HMC Project Cohort 2021

Six projects have been selected for funding in the second project call of the Helmholtz Incubator Platform Helmholtz Metadata Collaboration (HMC).

Here we present the six projects, more information will be updated regularly.

ALAMEDA: A scalable multi-domain Metadata management platform (GFZ, UFZ)

ALAMEDA proposes a standards-based metadata management system that prioritizes the end user perspective. This will allow access, search and compare meta-information across databases with an automated metadata enrichment utilizing available DataHub tools, implemented exemplary for soil moisture and stable isotope geochemistry.

Contact: Dr. Oliver Rach (oliver.rach(a)gfz-potsdam.de)



ELN-DIY-Meta
: ELN-Driven InteroperabilitY for Metadata (KIT, Hereon)

In this project, a method for metadata and data transfer between the open-source ELNs Chemotion and Herbie will be developed. The project will aim for a generalization of the specific process via the description of a general guideline and the implementation of available standards. The concept will be demonstrated for the use case of polymer membrane research.

Contact: Dr. Nicole Jung (nicole.jung(a)kit.edu)



HARMONise:
Enhancing interoperability of marine biomolecular (meta)data across Helmholtz Centres (AWI, GEOMAR)

This collaborative project will develop sustainable solutions and digital cultures to enable high-quality, standards-compliant curation and management of marine biomolecular metadata to better embed biomolecular science in broader digital ecosystems and research domains.

Contact: Dr. Christina Bienhold (christina.bienhold(a)awi.de)



MetaCook:
The Metadata Cookbook (KIT, Hereon)

MetaCook will develop an actionable manual of best-practices for the generation and curation of controlled vocabularies for scientific workflows which will be modularly assembled relative to lab size, structure and focus.

Contact: Dr. Nikolay Garabedian (nikolay.garabedian(a)kit.edu)



Metamorphoses:
Metadata for the merging of diverse atmospheric data on common subspaces (KIT, FZJ)

This project will develop enhanced standards for storage efficient decomposed arrays and tools for an automated generation of standardised Lagrange trajectory data files thus enabling an optimised and efficient synergetic merging of large remote sensing data sets.

Contact: Dr. Matthias Schneider (matthias.schneider(a)kit.edu)



SECoP@HMC:
A standardized interface for sample environment metadata and control - SECoP integration into experiment control systems (HZB, DESY, FZJ, HZDR; ESS, Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Zentrum (MLZ) / TU München, PSI)

The Sample Environment Communication Protocol (SECoP) provides a generalized way for controlling sample environment (SE) equipment. In addition, SECoP holds the possibility to transport SE metadata in a well-defined way. Within this project, metadata standards for typical SE equipment at large scale facilities (photons, neutrons, high magnetic fields) will be developed. A second focus is the mapping of the SECoP metadata standards to a unified SE vocabulary for a standardized metadata storage.

Contact: Dr. Klaus Kiefer (klaus.kiefer(a)helmholtz-berlin.de)